Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

The WWI Diaries, Can. Exp. Forces, Battalion #19

I have been reading the First World War Diaries trying to discover where my grand-uncle, Pvte. Fleming Wesley Hines, Batt. #19, was at the time that he was wounded and later died. Before reading the diaries, I knew he died in the Etaples Military Hospital on Sept. 18th, 1916, but didn’t know whether he was wounded or died of an illness. Well, the army kept a daily record of how many men were sick, so I could find out whether it was likely or not.

Here is the War Diary and contents page:

The next three pages are the Intelligence Summary for the month of May:

The rest of the diary pages for the month are difficult to read and I will be transcribing them, one day at a time after today. For the first daily blog post I will be transcribing May 1-6, 1916.
I am hoping to post daily, throughout the months of May-October, which includes the Battle of the Somme. The posts will be linked for easy reference. Well, on to the first day…

May 1- 6, 1916

Filed under: Genealogy, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Alana says:

    Hi Earline, I don’t know if you have looked at Veteran Affairs Canada’s Virtual Memorial yet. I was curious and did a search on your grand uncle and found his memorial. It gives his complete unit name, age, father’s name and what cemetery he is buried in. The link can be found hereI found this site very useful when searching my own step-grand uncle.

  2. Earline Hines Bradt says:

    Yes, I have seen the information. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
