Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Genea-blogging – My 100th Post

When I started my genealogy blog just a few months ago, I didn’t think I would have much to blog about, after all, I’m just an ordinary middle-aged stay-at-home grandmother of five, living in an ordinary small town. I don’t have much writing experience, but I have a love of family and history and I have learned that I have some interesting ancestors. Since they are no longer around, I feel that I am delegated to speaking for them and telling their stories.

Most of my family just smile and say “That’s nice” when I tell them of my family research, but the genea-blogging community shares in my interest and enthusiasm for family history.
I have “met” several great genea-bloggers since I started, too many to list, and I have even “met” a few distant cousins.

Since I started blogging in February, the genea-blogging community has grown tremendously. I don’t know whether it is the result of the economy and more people having more free time to blog or that more people are getting interested in genealogy, but I would like to think it is the latter.

I never thought I would ever get to 100 blog posts when I started, I didn’t think there were enough topics for me to write about, but I’m rarely at a loss for words. When I find myself at a loss for a topic to blog about, I enjoy participating in the memes, carnivals and prompts.

I look forward to reading the genea-blogs every day, there are a lot of great tips and tricks, new genealogy sites, and family stories. The authors of the blogs come from all over the world, with varying genealogy experience from the novice to the expert, to share their knowledge, experience and stories. I have learned that you don’t have to be a great writer to publish a genealogy blog, you just have to have ancestors to write about, and we all do.

Filed under: Blogging,

4 Responses

  1. Bill West says:

    Happy 100th, Earline! I look forward to reading many more of your posts.

  2. Miriam says:

    Congratulations, Earline! There's something to be said about a major milestone like this…and that is, "you're hooked!" :-)I enjoy reading your blog!

  3. Greta Koehl says:

    Congratulations on #100! I enjoy your blog and can't wait to read more!

  4. Janet Iles says:

    Keep up the good work. Genea-bloggers enjoy reading the writings of others. It is our hope that your family will too. Congratulations for reaching posting 100.

Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
