Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Saturday Night Genealogy Fun – 4th of July

Since I live so close to the border, Windsor and Detroit celebrate the International Freedom Festival, which starts in June and runs for two weeks. We often go to watch the Freedom Festival Fireworks on the Detroit River, which is one of the biggest displays in the world. When we can’t make it to the fireworks, we can watch them on TV. The fireworks were held on June 24th this year, I remember when I was young, they were always held between the 1st and 4th of July.

I lived in Windsor for about five years, twenty years ago, and the first year, we watched the fireworks from the rooftop of my mom’s apartment building, but the rest of the time we just walked down to the river, about 5 minute walk, and watched them.

Yesterday, we celebrated my husband’s birthday, which is tomorrow, with a barbecue at my son’s house. The guys played Bocci Ball and had fun starting the campfire, and my grandkids had fun eating (and wearing) mulberries. We got home in time to watch some fireworks on TV.

Filed under: Daily Genealogy Blogging Themes, Saturday Night Genealogy Fun, ,

One Response

  1. Jennifer says:

    Hi, Earline! I almost ended up in Windsor a couple of days ago as we were leaving Michigan. Didn't realize that I-75 was closed in Detroit and almost ended up on the Ambassador Bridge. I also found out that my grandfather is going to be staying indefinitely in Windsor. He was born and raised there, but had been living in Louisiana for the last 30 years or so. So I will probably be taking a trip up there next summer to visit! I haven't been to Windsor, only Sarnia and Chatham, so I'm looking forward to seeing something new.

Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
