Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Endorsements – What Are They?

I have blogged in the past about several products and services that I use or have tried, this includes research websites, genealogy programs, website builders, web hosts etc. If my understanding of the revised FTC regulations is correct, that would be an endorsement. If you think about it, even #follow Friday on Twitter is an endorsement!

I have only been compensated by one company, not for an endorsement, but for being a Beta tester. I have posted about this company in my blog, so now, do I have to go back and edit all of my posts that mention it with a disclaimer or explanation? This will be a lot of work for some bloggers who have been around for years.

Oh, well, I don’t have to worry, FTC regulations don’t apply here, but Canada is a follower, not a leader, so it’s only a matter of time.

I think I’ll put a disclaimer in future blogs, say something like;

“This post is only my opinion, I was not compensated for endorsing any person, website, product or service in any way. EJBradt“.

Filed under: Blogging, , ,

Leave a Reply

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
