Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

I’m Smiling On The Inside

I went for a ride yesterday, and it was just about the scariest ride in my life. All the lights flashing and sirens blaring all the way. I was riding in an ambulance, but I felt fine. I woke up from a granny nap in the afternoon and my face and arm were numb. I shrugged it off, I thought that it was because I slept on that side. I started to get supper ready, and I happened to look in the mirror and saw that my face was noticeably different, it drooped on one side and I couldn’t smile.

The first thing that I thought of was stroke or TIA. The paramedics took me to Windsor so I could get an injection to reverse the stroke if I needed it. There is a four-hour window where the drug is effective, and the clock was ticking. they said it was protocol to have sirens and lights for a suspected stroke because of the time window.

I got to the hospital and they took blood tests and a CT scan and everything was normal, I hadn’t had a stroke. Well, I was happy about that, but still I couldn’t smile. My arm being numb was probably because I slept on it wrong and irritated the nerve, and was unrelated to my facial paralysis. I have Carpal Tunnel Syndrome in that arm. I was told I likely had Bell’s Palsy, but I have to go back to see a neurologist this week for more testing. He asked if I had any viral infections recently, which I hadn’t. The doctor gave me a prescription for steroids and sent me home.

Well, I was glad that I wsn’t having a stroke but I knew nothing about Bell’s Palsy. When I got home, I got on the internet and read all about Bell’s Palsy. The condition is caused by a viral infection that causes irritation of the facial nerve. Sometimes it goes away on it’s own, sometimes steroids are effective and occasionally the damage is permanent. Well, it isn’t a life-threatening condition, and it’s not progressive, so I am thankful and relieved, but I hope that it goes away soon so I will be able to smile again.

I hope everyone has a Happy Thanksgiving/Columbus Day, I know I will, I’ll be smiling on the inside!

Filed under: Uncategorized, , ,

3 Responses

  1. Janet Iles says:

    Glad to hear that it wasn't a stroke but it was certainly a frightening experience for you. Let's hope that it goes away quickly so that you can smile again.Happy Thanksgiving Day.

  2. Terri says:

    Gosh sakes – how scary!! I hope you will be better soon! Terri

  3. Greta Koehl says:

    Hoping everything turns out OK!

Leave a Reply

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
