Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Madness Monday – I’m Really Connected To My Parents!

Technorati Tags: ,

I have grown up knowing that mom and dad were distant cousins, but I didn’t understand the connection until I started to research my family. Just for fun, I decided to use the relationship calculator in my Rootsmagic 4 program and was surprised that my mom and dad had more connections than I thought:

Mom-Dad

Then I decided to change dad’s name for mine and find out how many different connections I have to mom:Mom-Me

I was really surprised that there were eight connections, but when I changed mom’s name for dad’s I was shocked, to say the least!

Me-Dad

So, I thought to myself, what if I put my name in and calculated any connection between me and myself:

Me-Me

Now if that isn’t MADNESS!!

Filed under: Daily Genealogy Blogging Themes, Genealogy, Madness Monday, ,

One Response

  1. Janet Iles says:

    Wow! I never thought a person could have that many connections to their own parents.

Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
