Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Dec 1 – More Christmas Tree Memories

My grandparents on my dad’s side, had an artificial tree, a silver one, that sat in the front window every year. My grandmother always hung blue ornaments on it and didn’t ever put any lights on it, instead, she had a light sitting on the floor in front of the tree that shone on the tree and rotated a colour wheel of red, green, blue and yellow that reflected off of the tree.

My sister had a Charlie Brown tree from the time she was married until the kids got taller than the tree. She had it for almost 20 years, and it was the family joke, we went to her place for our family gathering and when we took a picture in front of the tree, and it disappeared. Her kids finally talked her into getting a bigger tree a couple of years ago, but we still all laugh about the memories of that Charlie Brown tree, she probably still has it somewhere.

When my kids were growing up we always had real trees with only home-made decorations on them, tin foil and construction paper chains, popcorn strung, Chinese lanterns and bread dough ornaments that we painted and glittered. I never had a glass ornament on my tree until the boys were out on their own.

My youngest sister, three nieces and my two boys 1981

My husband and I went out a few years ago and chopped down a real tree. It didn’t look very big out on the farm and when it was cut, they wrapped it up and we took it home. We got it in the house and got it unwrapped and it was HUGE! My husband got out the saw and cut about 3 feet off the bottom so we could stand it up. It didn’t want to stand up straight so we had to tie it with rope to the window frame, and when we went to take it down, the tree wouldn’t fit out the door. My husband had to cut most of the branches off the bottom half to get it out the door, that’s the last time we had a real tree.

This post is my second Dec. 1st post for the Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories at Geneabloggers.

Filed under: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories 2009, Special Events, ,

Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
