Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

December 2nd – Our Christmas Beast Feast

This is my post for the Dec. 2nd Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories at Geneabloggers. I thought I would try my hand at poetry, for a change, in the style of Dr. Seuss. The topic for today is Holiday Foods. Did your family or ancestors serve traditional dishes for the holidays? Was there one dish that was unusual?

Our Christmas Beast Feast

When we all gather for our Christmas feast,
on the menu, we always find some sort of beast.

What is it this year, a bear or a moose,
or jerky made out of dried duck or goose?

Perhaps, some venison, sausage or roast,
It’s entirely up to the whim of our host.

We will eat anything put on our plate,
any beast he could shoot, we willingly ate.

We were not fussy, didn’t care how it looked,
the only thing we asked was that it was cooked.

Our host is a hunter, a good one at that,
he stalks his prey with the stealth of a cat.

Ducks that once lived, by skilled hands are in flight,
frozen in time, to the hunter’s delight.

Alas, in the living-room, stands by the chair,
a well-deserved trophy, a full-grown black bear.

I wonder, what family feast it supplied?
I’ll bet it was great, whether roasted or fried.

What will it be this year, I can hardly wait
to see what sort of beast ends up on my plate.

I don’t really care what beast it may be,
As long as I share it with my family.

Filed under: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories 2009, Special Events, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Joan says:

    Loved It —- too close to the truth around these parts.

  2. Earline Hines Bradt says:

    I don't think I inherited the poetry gene from my mom,lol, but it was fun.

Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
