Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

What’s Up With Blogger Widgets?

I don’t know if it’s just my blog, but I have been having trouble this week with my widgets, and deleted the ones that weren’t working. I got a scare when I deleted one widget and my blog disappeared. I refreshed the page and it was back. Needless to say, I promptly backed up my blog to my hard drive.

I checked the Blogger Known Issues and was surprised to see that there are outstanding issues with the widgets, one widget was actually mal-ware and all of the blogs with the widget were disabled. I am afraid to put any new widgets on my blog now.

Does Blogger check out the safety of the widgets on the site, or can anyone make a widget and upload it for everyone to use? I think they should check out any new widget before they allow users to put it on their site, there are a lot of crazies out there. Who knows, backing up your blog to your hard drive might even be dangerous. I think I’ll start backing it up online to my notebook from now on.

Filed under: Blogging, ,

2 Responses

  1. geneabloggers says:

    Unfortunately, there is no real clearing house for Blogger widgets like Apple does for iPhone apps. It is user beware.

  2. Mary says:

    Hi Earline,Don't know about the widgets, but I was trying to get a post up for today and couldn't get pictures to upload. It's working now …too late for Treasure Thursday 😦 Guess there must be bad elves in the blogger machinery this week.Thanks for the tip on the widgets.

Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
