Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

December 4 – Christmas Cards

Christmas Cards -Did your family send cards? Did your family display the ones they received? Do you still send Christmas cards? Do you have any cards from your ancestors?
Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories


I wasn’t going to post to this day’s topic, I didn’t know what to write, my family hasn’t mailed Christmas cards for decades, usually we just hand deliver them or we bring our Christmas cards to our family gatherings and hand them out then.

We decided to mail Christmas cards this year for a change, so I found some that I liked and I am getting a mailing list together. I still have my mailing list for my wedding, I’ll start with that, but I have to edit it for people that have moved, passed away and new families. I’ll add to it my mailing list from the family reunion, there are a few new cousins to include. I will be mailing them all across the country, from British Columbia to Newfoundland and even a few international ones. If I have a mailing address, they’ll be getting a card.

For those who I don’t have a mailing address, I will be sending cards by email, but I prefer mailing them out, it seems more personal. I may include a family newsletter as well, I haven’t decided yet.

My grandchildren make cards to hand out at the family gatherings, but they have pompoms, popsicle sticks and tons of glitter on them, so I can’t scan them to share with you. I always hang the homemade cards on my tree.



My grandson made this picture of baby Jesus for me yesterday, he even put the star in it. He just learned how to print his name and he was so proud, and so am I!

Filed under: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories 2009, Special Events,

Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
