Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Saturday Night Genealogy Fun – Dear Genea-Santa…

From Randy at Genea-musings Hey, fellow geneaholics, it’s Saturday Night, and time for lots of Genealogy Fun! Your mission, should you decide to accept it (cue the Mission: Impossible music), is to write a nice letter to Genea-Santa Here are the directions:
1) Write a letter to Genea-Santa and ask for only ONE thing. It could be hardware, software, a missing family Bible, a record that you desperately want, etc.
2) Tell Genea-Santa what a good genea-girl or genea-boy you’ve been this past year and give examples.
3) Exhibit your posts on your own blog, in a Facebook post commenting on this note, or in a Comment to this blog post.
So – go forth and write your letter!

Dear Genea-Santa,

How are you doing, are you eating lots of Mrs. Claus’ cookies and getting fattened up for Christmas Eve? Are your elves keeping busy? How old are you and when is your birthday? When and where did you and Mrs. Claus get married? What is Mrs. Claus’ maiden name? Do you have any children?

I have been really good at keeping up my geneablog, and reading all of the other geneablogs too. I entered several Genealogy Carnivals as well. My blog was even nominated for Family Tree Magazine Top 40 genealogy blogs and I didn’t even nominate or vote for my own blog. I am trying my best to write daily posts for the Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories and I submitted three recipes to the Geneabloggers Winter Cookbook.

I have been sharing my blog with my family and friends on Facebook and I created a blog just for my kids and grandkids about their ancestry, To My Descendants. I made some “I Remember” pages for my mom and dad on Facebook too.

I also joined the Bicentennial Branch of the UELAC this summer. I went to my first meeting but I didn’t go to the last one because I had been exposed to the H1N1 virus and wasn’t feeling good and didn’t want to make anyone sick there.

I was assistant organizer of my family reunion even though I had to have surgery a few weeks before, I helped out as much as possible.

I haven’t been doing such a good job at keeping my genealogy database up to date, but I will try harder next year.

I won’t ask for much this year, I don’t really need much, but I really would like to get my UEL certification, if it isn’t too much to ask. I have been researching my ancestors and I think I have everything I need, I just have to order some documents. I really really want to honour my Loyalist ancestors and make it easy for more of Nathaniel Haines’ descendants to get their certification if they want to. So please could you just bring me this one thing and I won’t ask for anything next year (unless I think of something during the year).

Yours truly, Earline

Filed under: Saturday Night Genealogy Fun, ,

One Response

  1. Gini says:

    What a great letter! I love it Earline, very creative. I think Santa will be visiting you and granting your wishes.

Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
