Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Dec. 6 – Santa Claus

Did you ever send a letter to Santa? Did you ever visit Santa and “make a list?” Do you still believe in Santa Claus?

I don’t remember ever sending a letter to Santa, letting him know whether I was bad or good in the past year and deserving of gifts, he already knew. And, if he already knew, then he must already know what I wanted or deserved for Christmas. I left letters for him in my stocking, not to ask for anything in particular, just a general letter saying that he could decide what to leave me so it would be a surprise.

After I was grown and had kids of my own, I was was surprised that I married into the Santa Claus family, my father-in-law was Santa Claus. Every year the kids would go to the Moose Lodge Christmas party and sit on Santa’s knee and were very surprised that Santa Claus knew their names, and knew what they were up to, he must be the real Santa Claus! They had no idea that they were sitting on their grandfather’s knee. He was Santa Claus there for years, maybe it was because he didn’t need a pillow, he was all real. Now, he isn’t doing very well, and my Christmas wish is for him to live long enough to see another Christmas, I don’t want my family to look back and remember Christmas of 2009 as the year that Santa died.


I have always equated Santa Claus with the Christmas spirit, of love and giving and sharing and family, so, yes, I do still believe in Santa Claus.

Filed under: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories 2009, Special Events, , ,

Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
