Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Dec. 10th – Smile For The Camera #19- The Gift “What Do I Do With This???”

Heritage Village 296

That was the question my husband asked after opening his Christmas gift from me a couple of years ago. I couldn’t think of anything to get my husband for Christmas, I was trying to figure out something unique to give him that he could look at for years to come. What was it? It was an old tart tin that I had bought at a thrift store a few years earlier for $2. It wasn’t just any tart tray, it was a blue and white swirl enamelware tart tin, highly collectible and moderately valuable. Well, that seemed like a very unique gift, he said, but he didn’t think he’s get much use out of it. I explained that it was an antique and he could put it on eBay and use the profits from the sale to get a tattoo.

Heritage Village 297

He said, “well, I don’t think I’ll get enough to pay for a tattoo, but I’ll list it anyway”. He was pleasantly surprised when it sold for almost $200. Now he has a tattoo to remind him everyday of the very unusual gift.

Filed under: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories 2009, Smile For The Camera, Special Events, , ,

3 Responses

  1. LOOKING4ANCESTORS says:

    Greetings Earline,What a funny story! You must have been surprised as well that your $2 tart tin sold for so much on Ebay.Kathryn

  2. M. Diane Rogers says:

    Well, that's a very unusual story and unusual gifts for sure – the tart tin and the tattoo. It's the thought that counts, eh!

  3. Amy Coffin says:

    What a great idea! I love the story behind your creative gift. Way to spot the value!

Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
