Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Blogger VS WordPress

I have two Ancestral Notes sites, one for back-up. Both sites have unique features: Blogger has the Google Friend Connect feature and the HTML code boxes for widgets. The problem with Blogger is that it doesn’t work with Mozilla Firefox. After the update, the Firefox browser didn’t work right so I uninstalled it this morning and am currently on IE8.
I haven’t had any browser issues with WordPress and now that I have the tags and categories all straightened around, I am starting to create pages. The WordPress site is a lot cleaner, not as many widget boxes but I can make “sticky” posts with it. There are fewer templates to choose from than with Blogger with the free version. I chose a template that lets you “browse by topic” with all of the categories listed for a cleaner look.
Both sites have easy import/export features and posting by email.

There is a poll at the top of the homepage here, I will let my readers decide which site is easier to use and I’ll use the other for a backup site to import new posts to. Please visit both sites and vote on the one you prefer. I will have the poll on this blog until the end of the month and start using the chosen site in February.

Ancestral Notes on WordPress.

Filed under: Blogger, Blogging, Wordpress

10 Responses

  1. Amanda (the librarian) says:

    The problem with Blogger is that it doesn't work with Mozilla Firefox.Hmmm, I have absolutely no problems with Blogger and Firefox, and at work at least (where we have two Blogger blogs), the latest version of Firefox is running (I think – 3.0.16). I have a personal WordPress blog too and there are pros and cons for each platform.

  2. Thomas MacEntee says:

    Great post – I think Blogger is perfect for entry-level bloggers but WordPress is much more robust – especially if you have the hosted version.See our Blogger or WordPress post on GeneaBloggers:http://www.geneabloggers.com/wordpress-or-blogger-which-is-right-for-you/

  3. Amanda (the librarian) says:

    I agree that WordPress is more robust, but it requires more technical skills, and of course the hosted version is not free. Free is pretty important to a lot of people right now. 🙂

  4. Joan Miller says:

    Just wanted to thank you for making and maintaining a valued genealogy blog for us to enjoy. By way of my thanks I'm awarding you a Happy 101 Award!http://www.luxegen.ca/genealogy/luxegen-honoured-happy-101-award/

  5. Lucie LeBlanc Consentino says:

    Hi.. I use FireFox all of the time and I host two blogs using this browser. I have not encountered any problems whatsoever. I thought you might like to know that.I love using Blogger. I have learned to change html for a different look and learned to customize backgrounds for the look I wanted. Lots of fun!

  6. Earline Hines Bradt says:

    Well, it may be a problem with the Firefox update, I'm running Windows 7,it may just be my computer.

  7. Earline Hines Bradt says:

    I re-installed Firefox with no add-ons and it seems to be working okay now. Maybe it was one of the add-ons I had on it.

  8. […] here:  Blogger VS WordPress « Ancestral Notes Share and […]

  9. emily parrr says:

    this kind of blog always useful for blog readers, it helps people during research. your post is one of the same for blog readers.Thesis Papers

  10. Many institutions limit access to their online information. Making this information available will be an asset to all.

Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
