Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Saturday Night Genealogy Fun – If I Won

It’s Saturday Night, time for more Genealogy Fun with Randy Seaver of Genea-musings!

Your mission, should you decide to accept it, is to:

1) If you won the grand prize in the Ancestry.com Ultimate Family History Journey Sweepstakes of $20,000 for genealogy travel to places of your choice, where would you go, and what would you do?

2) Tell us of your dream genealogy trip using the prize money in a blog post of your own, in a comment to this post, or in a comment on Facebook.

I would book a cabin on a cruise ship to Great Britain, I don’t fly so an airplane is out of the question. I would visit all of the places that my ancestors lived, Cheshire, England, then across the English Channel to La Rochelle and Perche to learn more about my French-Canadian ancestral homes. I would then go to Etaples and visit my grand-uncle’s grave in the Etaples Military Cemetery. My final stop in France sould be the south of France, just for a break.

I would cross over to Germany and see if I can find out who my 5th great-grandparents were.
I would then set sail for the Scottish borders, visit the site of the Battle of Culloden, Fogo, Coldstream and Edinburg, tour some castles, then to the eastern shore to Port Patrick, then to Ayrshire and Rothesay on the Isle of Bute. I would then go to Ireland, to County Armagh and County Kerry to find any records of my ancestors there and tour more castles. Of course I would stop at every antique store and museum that was in my path, that goes without saying!

Creative Commons License
Ancestral Notes by Earline Hines Bradt is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.5 Canada License.

Filed under: If I Won, Saturday Night Genealogy fun

Leave a Reply

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
