Ancestral Notes

My Family History blog

Saturday Night Genealogy Fun – My Other Interests

I haven’t been dong as much genealogy stuff lately, just a couple of hours a day reading blogs, researching and blogging. When I’m not doing genie stuff, or housework, I spend time with my family.

I babysit my 4 year old grandson two or three mornings a week. I look forward to his company, and my two dogs do too. They are getting better at settling down when he comes, only a minute or two of chaos.

I like baking and I bake a couple of times a week. I’ve recently started to make my own pasta, I made some tortellinis and raviolis last week. It was made more difficult as my left wrist is in a cast from an accident two weeks ago skating with my grandkids’ on the neighbour’s pond. I hadn’t been on skates for over thirty years, but I used to just about live on skates when I was growing up, we skated from dawn ’til dark.

I am going to paint the livingroom as soon as I am able, and I’m spring cleaning as much as I can, cleaning closets, shelves, getting more organized.
I also like to sew, I have a sewing room that is way overdue for reorganization too.

I also like collecting and going to auctions. I have a variety of glassware, sewing, kitchenware, pottery, toy, china, bottle, collections and I’m fortunate to have a husband who is also a collector mostly sports collectibles, trading cards, his teams, books, keychains, banks, games and toys. We go to estate sales and auctions when we can and we go yard saling almost every Saturday in the season. I am starting an online store sometime this year so I can keep on going to auctions guiltfree. I was hoping to have it open for last Christmas but it is taking longer than I thought it would.

I also enjoy gardening and will be going out and tilling the soil in my vegetable garden and cleaning up my flower beds and water gardens as soon as it warms up. My wrist should be okay by then .I am starting seeds indoors next month, I have to get my seed order in this week.

I like fishing, I’ve been fishing all my life. We go camping for two weeks every summer in the Kawarthas during bass season.

We also have a full-size pool table in our basement and we shoot pool or play darts in the evenings. We have three tvs so there’s always one on. I like to watch Ghost Hunters and Destination Truth as well as history documenteries.

I like being creative and I watch craft shows and go to arts and crafts shows. I have a few projects on the go at any time, sewing, woodworking, painting, refinishing, reupholstering, etc. so I don’t get a chance to be bored. I am home most of the time, there’s no place I’d rather be, and I always have something going on.

Advertisements

Filed under: My Other Interests, Saturday Night Genealogy fun

September 2017
S M T W T F S
« Nov    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930